top of page
Search
  • us1worksheets

Poet's Profile: Bill Waldorf

Bill tells us he has been writing poetry for several years. He has quite a few poems published in anthologies. His work has been heard by poetry groups in Massachusetts, Virginia, New York and in New Jersey, his home state. He has pursued his writing education by attending classes at Rutgers University and The Princeton Evergreen Forum. He holds a degree in Business from Fairleigh Dickinson University. He belongs to DVP/US1 Poets. Most of all he enjoys sharing his love of poetry with his grandchildren. His poetry book is to be published this year. Bill loves the challenge of rhyme and writing sonnets.


His poem from US 1 Worksheets 66:


Afraid to ask


You sit so still, staring out the window

a hand shaking, you’re breathing so softly

erect, distant, watching so intently,

my love, often wondering where you go


knowing we could overcome any foe

I miss you, my heart longs for you fondly,

angrily craving your return, nightly

tucking you in safely with your pillow.


My vow is forever. Will you know me?

Timidly, I’m always afraid to ask,

when I’m in front which person will I see,

happy knowing face or your granite mask?


I once had a love that filled me with joy,

sickness took it away, left a decoy.




24 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page