top of page
Search
  • us1worksheets

Poet's Profile: Sally Walsh

Here's a poem and commentary from a poet from US 1 Worksheets Volume 66, Sally Walsh.


Surprises

mom’s diaphragm failed twice

I woke up here


small moist muscle

pulsing against mother earth


post-war Los Angeles late forties

stockings with seams if you could get ‘em


dad had been an army medic

next, in Texas, eighteen months later


little brother joined the playpen

we two alone against an adult world


preteen and our early closeness never

regained even with champagne


then mom died secrets exposed

time of long silence between us


one day I called him and we began again

dined together when I came home


later messages grew incoherent

his wife told me he fell

I miss him


Sally shares this about her poem "Surprises."


Our postwar family moved around a lot. I grew up in industrial northeastern Ohio, but I’ve lived in Princeton since 1982, longer than anywhere else. I became involved with the US 1 Poets Cooperative soon after moving here from Austin. My favorite poet/poem is John Ciardi’s Two Egrets. I’m semi-retired from public service law practice and have been working with Betty Lies’ Memoir group at the Princeton Senior Resource Center. Surprises arose from writing about my past and how it looks in retrospect.


7 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page